, attached to 1988-11-11

Review by thelot

thelot Not much to review with this one as only a small portion of the show circulates. The SBD source leaves a lot to be desired as there is multiple cassette generations in it’s lineage. I listened to this one through the Relisten app, I’ll have to see if I have the audience recording on my hard drive to compare sound quality. A few notes…The Bowie to close Set 1 is decent. The very end of Weekapaug was reworked again to it’s current format. The Mr. PC was great! Obviously more cohesive than what we heard in Telluride. The second jam in Whipping Post was short but very cool. Almost reminded me of some of the ambient stuff they’d later get into.
, attached to 1988-11-05

Review by thelot

thelot This recording starts out a little rough but improves quite a bit during the Slave jam. The pitch seems to be a hair sharp for Possum and A-Train but works itself out. The rest of the show sounds decent overall. It was neat to have a reference photo to look at for this show. Cool to see the picture hanging on the wall behind the band that Trey points out in this humorous version of Icculus. Unfortunately there’s a good portion of Set 3 missing. The cut takes place during the ‘Gus the Christmas Dog’ section of Divided Sky. A couple other notes…Wilson has the “blap boom” but also features the vocal drum roll into Peaches…that’s a first, Bag had no introduction and Weekapaug has a reworked ending from previous versions. Overall a fun vibe throughout the show but pretty run of the mill for the time.
, attached to 1988-11-03

Review by thelot

thelot There’s two different sources spliced together for this show. Source 1 has “ok” sound with a number of cassette generations in it’s lineage. The first source runs from Fire through Lizards. Source 1 cuts back in for the last song of the show, David Bowie (which cuts out during a nice jam) :( Source 2 sounds absolutely incredible! This runs from Whipping Post through Harpua. Unfortunately Shaggy Dog is missing on this recording. This was the first “on shore” gig the band played in Boston. Their first official gig in Boston took place on a boat in Boston Harbor on 6-1-86. There seemed to be a decent turnout at Molly’s that night. The show has good energy but is straightforward for 1988. Trey’s vocals on Whipping Post are very enjoyable. This may be due in part to the beautiful mix of the recording. Hearing DEG come out of the second jam is pretty cool. Unlike the debut of Foam at Goddard, the version here features the now standard middle jam. The Harpua story follows the same line you’d expect it would for this time period. This show is worth checking out if you want to hear a high quality recording of the band in the 80’s, particularly from Whipping Post through Harpua.
, attached to 2015-07-31

Review by KWdub24

KWdub24 This Twist is extremely powerful. Whole show is amazing, honestly, but something about the Twist speaks to my soul. It has pulled me out of some of the darkest times of my life and given me hope. At only 10 minutes too. Pure joy and euphoria. Give it a listen, then listen to the whole show all the way through. Truly special.
, attached to 2021-08-15

Review by TheFuckinBook_Man

TheFuckinBook_Man Best night of weather of the 3 nights- not as muggy! So it had that goin for it pre show. I was about 20 folks back from Fishman around 2 hours before showtime, just hanging and meetin' and talking with people i only see and new people i only meet at a show- and usually we only get to talk before the show! After it started we're all usually out there! And after we Phish off!! One guy and his wife were at the '98 Van Andel show and i told them i saw them 4 days later in Tennessee and it sucked in comparison. They laughed...how could any phish suck?? Some of it does. A tiny bit. Then about 5 or 6 people I knew showed up and made space next to the wiry, tireless, inventive, sun-craisin next to us who was scooping sand out of a 5 foot diameter circle so he would have a harder, more level surface to dance on- cuz about 2 feet under the sand is basically smooth, hard sand. The dude took up about a football teams huddle amount of space with all the excavated sand, but no one really cared. Except an ingenious fan who circled the dudes dancin' pit with glowsticks cuz sooo many walkers crumbled into it during the first set. Oh and the tunes. My friends showed up with paper so i had 1, which kept me up til I got home the next night at 2am! Good stuff. But i only was on it for an hour before the show, so of course whatever they played first was gonna be weirdish and it was to me, as this is how i saw things, how i felt'em, what i thought. Just me! The Landlady! My first time hearing it as it once was, so that was happiness in papers weird form, no matter how janky the song was played at times. Then the first "OMAHA"! of the night with the S&SS intro into Moma! WELL PLAYED S&SS intro, too! That intro could soundtrack a scene of Shakespeare, ya know? The show had its first unforgettable moment. And the Moma was a helluva effort- extended to new sounds that showed why I come to shows still- their supreme improv. They're the best at it! The greatest. And the longer they play together the better they can be at it. The Landlady nowadays is as slow as an elder landlady might walk, but the improv in Moma was as piercingly forthright as a landlady should be in order to be good at her job. The Final Hurrah sounded like Blaze On, and it mighta been at first, or they mighta just hit an incorrect note or two. I like The Final Hurrah. I think it's amazingly arraigned and the lyrics are great melodic humor. Hell yes it's Mike's. And a shimmering, gruff, worthwhile Mike's it was! So then the beauty of Hydrogen kinda reminded the drug to perform. What a song. Such eternal beauty!!! Off to Weekapaug for the Sock Hop! We danced. Phish is about the only music I will actually dance to. So they owe me something for forcing FORCING me to embarrass myself like I do. Fishman's "Yeaaa" vocal effect after Weekapaug was well timed. They did The Sloth well. Love it. Been feelin' real outcasty as this pandemic continues. Anyways, we now hear one of only two 1.0 songs I think have peaked in 3.0 and beyond. Roggae didn't have its best night on the swell Atlantic City shore, and neither did Carini (the other 1.0 song that got better- I feel hit it its peak at Dicks in '17. Idk which Roggae is my favorite, but it's definitely after 2008.) Back On The Train is a fav of mine cuz I heard it on the radio in '00, right after the station played Zero- I was just passing through Montana when I heard it, and back home in Tennessee I had only heard any twice- Free on our college station in '97, and in 2000 i heard Heavy Things on the same station (but I count that as a Hanson cover ;) BOY!! A real nice YEM- especially the beginning 3 or 4 minutes while on the paper... is like hearing the music of a bunch of dead yet immortal lords of composers. The dude who was at Van Andel and I looked at each other and I had a huge deafening smile going as we shook hands for some reason as I muttered, "THEY STILL HAVE IT!!" He nodded goofily and we haven't spoken since! Such as a setbreak is. My friends and I spoke though! What about, I hardly know. But i do remember laughing. Hell yeah. So then the best part of the show for me. The Carini jam put my mind in a nice space cuz the music was just so good, so damn goooood. I started to feel grateful. And lucky to be alive, unlike 3 friends I knew back home who died from Covid. One of them my uncle. I was surprised that I was feeling my way. But, this pandemic is unprecedented and being at one of my favorite places was quite the emotion. I took a chance even going, and everything worked out for the most part. I began to get some tears though, and they reminded me how powerful these guys' music is these days. Their art. Then during Set Your Soul Free, a song I'm not likin' yet although I do usually enjoy its improv, I began hearing consistent talking. No talking during improv, please. Especially 2nd set-I might die/I might pass on a disease that dies ya/i spent too much money- improv. So after 5 minutes of on and off talking I just, for the first time in my life, turned around and asked, "could you please tell your story in 50 minutes or an hour, please?" The New Jersey accent was torturing my acid soaked southern ears, and how could 2 "pleases" not work? As I turned around I put my hands together like I was praying they'd stay quiet, and they did! Thank y'all. My first time hearing Beneath A Sea of Stars was ok. It def needed quietness to work as a song. Being near the sound sweet section helped this tune- Mike's bass floated us around in a soothing bog. That Piper rocked! The show did, too. It was my favorite of the 5 shows i saw this year. Oak Mt and n2 Alpharetta being the others. If it sounds like I'm done rambling I am! Fluffhead was fine and dandy, but not as Phish because of their lack of flowing speed during the slightly impossible up and down parts in The Chase and Who Do? We Do! It didn't, to me, this night, have the same effect as it has in the past, but that's ok as can be! It's fuckin' Fluffhead! In the moment I wanted something besides Number Line to end it, but within 30 seconds I was into it and all that is behind its history. It just takes being there, as the song and the surrounding joy of the crowd and band pointed my mind into remembering the good times with my uncle... Thank you Phish.
, attached to 1996-11-16

Review by BlazedOn

BlazedOn my first show. bitter cold and icy outside. cops on horses checking out the scene but seemed like everyone just wanted to get inside. all GA and full but comfortable, and we were Mike side seats. Guyute and all of set 2, which was a full on rock show, were standouts for me. the Band seemed to have a blast.
, attached to 1988-10-29

Review by thelot

thelot This is a nice recording, although the pauses in between most tracks and during some songs is a bit annoying. I would imagine there was a lot of great stage banter that took place on this night, but unfortunately it’s all lost. The source info says this is a SBD recording but I believe it’s either a Matrix or a really nice On Stage recording. The quality seems to degrade a bit after the cut in Bag. There’s clearly a couple cassette generations in the lineage but it’s still a very bright sounding source overall. The audience comes through clearly and there seems to be quite a few in attendance! Probably the whole darn school!???? The show is rock solid throughout with a little sloppiness in sections. Set 1 is highlighted by the debut of Time Loves a Hero, a very loose Contact and the Costume Contest -> Harry Hood. Harry Hood was the clear winner of the contest. I wonder if there’s any photos out there from this night? I’d love to see what the costumes looked like! Set 2 kicked off with the first special guest of the night. I must say I’m not a big fan of Nancy on vocals for Halley’s, actually not a fan of what Halley’s sounded like in general in the 80’s. On a positive note, the jam out of Halley’s segues nicely into another short but hot version of Whipping Post! It’s great to hear Divided Sky back in rotation! Trey pulled off the ‘Gus the Christmas Dog’ section a lot better than his attempt at the “Full Moon at the Zoo” performance. Guest number two of the evening was another low point imho. Bobby Brown is no John Popper and definitely took away from this version of Curtis Lowe. This standalone version of Mike’s was pretty rockin’! More than half of Set 3 features Russ Remington on Sax. Some songs work better with the addition of the saxophone than others but overall Russ was a welcome addition to Set 3. I especially enjoyed his contribution to Timber, Slave and the debut of Donna Lee. Bag started with the introduction but cuts out shortly thereafter and starts back up midway through the jam. The debut of Foam came next even though it was introduced back in the Spring during their Earth Day performance (4/22) as “Marijuana Hot Chocolate”. This version runs straight through the verses with no middle jam. Although Fish debuted his vacuum cleaner at Sam’s on 9/13 he still has yet to bust it out again. Both Terrapin and I Didn’t Know feature him playing his bone. Fun show overall. This one is definitely worth a listen if you’ve never heard it!
, attached to 1997-12-07

Review by 0160mhsihp

0160mhsihp I took my dad to this show. It was his first time seeing Phish. He had no idea what to expect. I wasn't sure if he's be overwhelmed or what. Long story short he loved it. After tapping me on the shoulder during JJLC saying "this is the best fucking band I've ever heard". Let's just say my inhibitions went away as I knew he was enjoying himself. He saw them another 6 times with me. A few with the whole family. Mom, Dad, brother, sister. I'll never forget those times.
, attached to 1988-09-24

Review by thelot

thelot The sound quality on set 1 is top notch! However, set 2&3 are a bit sped up making the band sound like Alvin and the Chipmunks. I’m sure it’s been corrected on one of the four sources that circulate, but alas the version on Relisten has this issue. The band was firing on all cylinders this evening! I wish the Bowie to kick off set 2 was available because I’m sure it kills…it was just one of those nights! The Amherst audience is absolutely eating it up! From what I know “Full Moon at the Zoo” were psychedelic parties. Set 1 highlights include On Your Way Down, YEM->Wilson->Peaches and the first full version of Divided Sky that circulates. It’s possible the first full version was played on 8/13 but no recording is known to circulate. Set 2 has a nice Whipping Post albeit a little short. The Curtain > AC/DC Bag from set 3 is worth checking out. The Bag has no introduction and is laid back. Trey takes a minimalist approach to his playing in the jam with some tasteful teases throughout. One of the best versions I’ve heard thus far. Unfortunately, the rest of set 3 is cut from the tapes that circulate. This would make for another fine release!
, attached to 1995-05-14

Review by gregehle

gregehle This was a fairly magical experience. I had attended a bunch of parties and such at the round house, and seen a bunch of jams, but this was phish with Paul L mixing in the front yard. Maybe 20-30 people there. I remember taking a leak in the bushes and hearing Camel Walk, which is not in this setlist so I think the setlist is incomplete. It was a summer '95 bust out as well.
, attached to 1988-09-13

Review by thelot

thelot Night 2 of Sam’s definitely improved on sound quality, however the pitch of the recording is a bit slow. Plus, there’s multiple cassette generations on this source. Still an enjoyable listen overall as this was another strong performance. Unfortunately, only the first two sets circulate. The 3rd set features the debut of the one off performance of The Velvet Underground’s ‘Andy’s Chest’ as well as the first known appearance of Fish’s vacuum. If Kevin is sitting on the masters of this one it would make for a great release!
, attached to 1988-09-13

Review by thelot

thelot Night 2 of Sam’s definitely improved on sound quality, however the pitch of the recording is a bit slow. Plus, there’s multiple cassette generations on this source. Still an enjoyable listen overall as this was another strong performance. Unfortunately, only the first two sets circulate. The 3rd set features the debut of the one off performance of The Velvet Underground’s ‘Andy’s Chest’ as well as the first known appearance of Fish’s vacuum. If Kevin is sitting on the masters of this one it would make for a great release!
, attached to 1988-09-12

Review by thelot

thelot The sound quality on this one is pretty bad. It’s a shame too because what’s available is great! Of course when the sound quality is this bad it really takes away from the performance. The recording starts out midway through set 1. The Axis closer is the highlight from the first set. Be sure to check out the ending on this version! Set 2 is where things pick up. Timber opens up set 2 for the second time since 11/19/87. TMWSIY through Esther is great! The debut of Esther with the original lyrics is a must here. I wonder if Kevin is sitting on the masters of this one? I’d love to hear a clean copy, if not for the Esther alone.
, attached to 1988-09-08

Review by thelot

thelot The recording on this one is phenomenal. It’s a shame the taper had to leave before set 3! However, the sets that circulate are standard fair for 1988. Apparently tGD were playing in Philadelphia. It’s a good possibility this had an impact on attendance at The Front for these three nights. These performances were certainly lacking tapers! Wild Child was a welcome treat! Bag had the introduction. DEG seems to have found a home in Cities since Telluride! They go together like PB&J! On Your Way Down > Whipping Post closed out set 2 nicely.
, attached to 2013-07-05

Review by yam_ekaj

yam_ekaj A long story: This was my first Phish show. I had gotten into the band in 2012 through a friend at summer camp (not a unique path to Phish, to be sure). My first opportunity to see the band came in Summer 2013, but unfortunately I didn't know anyone else who could go with me (my friend was working that summer and unable to attend). But I was determined to go and convinced my parents to let young 16-year-old Yam attend the show solo. I took a train from NYC up to Saratoga alone and attended my first ever show solo. The show itself is a very solid show. The first set is pretty standard but I was excited to see Bowie as it was and is my favorite Phish song. The second set is great--I still listen to the Light from time to time. For a while this was also my only Mango Song (another one of my favorites, streak broken at Camden N3 2019). After the show, it began pouring rain. I needed to find a cab back to where I was staying, but so did everyone else, leading to a massive shortage. After a while, my very old phone died. Eventually, without much else to do, I wound up following a group of people who were walking along the highway once the rain had stopped, marching on back to downtown Saratoga. It eventually thinned out to a group of three wook-adjacent friends and myself, a 16-year-old in way over his head. They noticed I was following behind and turned around. One said, "hey man, are you following us?" I said, "well I'm just trying to get back into town and I think this is the way. Seems like you all have a GPS." He said, "we do! We're actually headed to my buddy Mike's house in town to huff gas if you wanna join." "I'm good," i said. I followed them the rest of the way to town and eventually found my hotel. I finally texted my parents, letting them know about the whole ordeal, but I'll never forget my last line of the text: "Despite all of that, this was still definitely the best night of my life."
, attached to 2000-06-10

Review by DemandOpener

DemandOpener [b]Set 1:[/b] With about as little preamble as one would expect from a band with nothing to say and nothing to lose (kind of like this review), Phish kicks off their second night in Tokyo with a monstrous Disease. Like the previous night's Tweezer, this Disease features a long vamp on the main theme (this time only about 12 minutes) before breaking off into 2000-style contemplative space. The space expands and contracts, probing the seabed of Tokyo Bay before triumphantly returning to Disease, similarly (again) to the Tokyo Tweezer's "burn it down" rocking jam segment after about 25 minutes of exploration. This Disease is a bit more successful; Trey's playing is more active and there is clearly more improvisational communication going on between band members. Where the Tokyo Tweezer felt lost at sea, the Tokyo Disease feels more focused and more determined. The evolution of a jam style in real time...very cool. After a brief, joyful Sample, Piper follows. It collapses into sonic dissonance almost immediately and then finds this kick-ass rocking groove that turns out to be...Trey and Fish steering back into Piper! As quickly as パイパー - さん resurfaces here for air, it departs back beneath the turbulent, type II ocean current. Trey and Page furiously whip up a sonic whirlpool that Mike and Fish punctuate with blasts of percussive debris. For most of it, this Piper is a demented, wild ride...as unsettling as it is intense (and is also a MUST-HEAR jam of this brief Japan tour). Finally though, as a welcome, calming coda, the jam cools off and sits at a low simmer; Mike/Trey empty their pockets of melodic and countermelodic ideas while Fish/Page are content to propel the thing along...obviously satisfied with how the night is proceeding. To close, a soothing outro reminiscent of a lullaby... Enter Lawn Boy: a perfect call at this juncture. Then Guyute. Unfortunately, Guyute is starting to leave its prime so it's not a super well-executed version (Trey). Its customary intensity caps the set regardless, and we excitedly await Set 2. What could be in store following an extremely memorable set 1...? [b]Set 2:[/b] After a brief plea to Japanese alternative rock radio (Heavy Things), things get underway with SAND. This is back when Sand was less of a celebratory anthem for the band that got everybody rocking...in 1999-2000, Sand always seemed to be an omen of evil portents to come. The droning guitar and delicate, watery keyboard backed by thumping bass and drums...almost make it sound like Phish's version of trance music. But instead of a bass drop...we get a JAM drop. In only its second appearance post-Big Cypress, this Sand gets trance-y early with whirling siren loops, crazy Page, and nary a fill from Mike nor Fish. I think you either love this type of Sand jam or you don't...and if you don't, you are wrong. The joy is in the subtlety, and thank goodness we had a crowd in this tiny Japanese club that was willing to really pay attention and not chomp all over it (mostly). Trey waits a little too long once the band is out of ideas to pull out of the reverie into the Sand coda, but maybe he was just trying to remember how to play Sparkle, which is next...but he doesn't really remember how to play the intro anyway. Oh well. Following Sparkle are a bunch more songs, all well played, but nothing too spectacular or out of the box. And...that's kind of it. Perhaps indicative of a band about to take over two years off, 6/10/00 is the second straight show where the quality of the first set eclipses the second, either due to a lack of energy, creativity, or both. 5 stars = All-time, transcendent show (there aren't very many of these) 4 stars = Great show (there are a lot of these) [b]3 stars[/b] = Good show with a few highlights or standout moments (there are a lot of these) 2 stars = Average show (there are a few of these, but Phish usually manages to be a bit better than the "average version of itself) 1 stars = Bad show (there aren't very many of these) This show is a [b]3/5[/b]. If you love the Tokyo Tweezer, don't miss the Tokyo Disease, and please don't miss the Tokyo Piper regardless. Check out this Sand, too, if you're into those giant early Sands that take a lap around type I and remain dark and slinky all the way through.
, attached to 2000-06-09

Review by DemandOpener

DemandOpener [b]6/9/00 Set 1:[/b] No doubt about it, this is a winner of a set. On-Air East starts off strong and sloppy with an Axilla I chockablock with crowd energy. This energy manifests on stage as a Taste tsunami crashing on Tokyo shores. This Taste isn't jam charted, but finds some really nice space immediately and culminates in a torrential downpour of swirling guitar and crash cymbals. An "earned" Billy Breathes follows, perhaps a bit earlier than would normally make sense, but eventually wins over a chatty, excitable crowd with some watery effect-laden playing from Trey. Poor Heart, Golgi, and Funky Bitch follow and are effective as a punchy trio to whip the crowd back up into a frenzy again. A brief interlude into Moma showcases some atypical, quiet playing/singing from Fish and is a really nice way to kick off the final frame of the set. The enthusiasm for the moment spills over into a ferocious First Tube > Chalk Dust combo, which serves as the knockout punch to this "Japanese" Phish crowd. A lot of shows are described as "You had to be there", but this one on tape, you can really imagine what it might have been like: [b]エネルギー![/b] [b]Tweezer:[/b] I've made a few enemies discussing how I think that this Tweezer--all 30 minutes of it--is a bloated, overrated mess. In the car, on lot, during setbreak, at the urinal, any time a discussion about the Tokyo Tweezer pops up, I just HAVE to get involved. Is the Funk #49 tease awesome? Yes. Is Trey's incendiary guitar work enveloping the ploddingly-paced jam that takes FOREVER to go type II and lacks any major distinct features until about 18 minutes in enough to save this jam from being a hard skip from me every time it pops up in my "long jams" iTunes playlist? No. And yes, I still use iTunes for some reason. I'm not trying to be negative on purpose; I'm just not seeing what everyone else sees in this Tweezer jam. It collapses in on itself like a dying star at about 15 minutes in, manages to rebuild back into Tweezer, kind of collapses again, does some cool spacy stuff for a while, but doesn't [i]really [/i]"pay off" in a meaningful way like other long, challenging 2000 jams do (think Fukuoka Twist, Darien Drowned, etc.). It's not a terrible jam or anything, and is at least worth hearing because I think it does have an audience, but is nowhere near the tour-defining quality that one would likely apply to a 30+ minute jam. The jam [i]does [/i]finally start to peak at about 25 minutes in after a good 10 minutes of searching, and it's enjoyable. This peak isn't transcendent or anything, but it's a good one. [b]The rest of Set 2: [/b] Bouncing is actually about as closed to a jammed out Bouncing as you're going to get, as Trey thoroughly botches the end guitar part and decides to play a nifty little solo instead. Pretty cool! The rest of the set has some great song selection, some old, some new, a hauntingly gorgeous Coil outro, and a classic YEM. A great way to kick off the Japan 00 tour, and a great show to choose to debut properly my brand new ranking system: 5 stars = All-time, transcendent show (there aren't very many of these) 4 stars = Great show (there are a lot of these) [b]3 stars[/b] = Good show with a few highlights or standout moments (there are a lot of these) 2 stars = Average show (there are a few of these, but Phish usually manages to be a bit better than the "average version of itself) 1 stars = Bad show (there aren't very many of these) Anyway, this show is a [b]3/5[/b]. You'll want to seek out the entire first set if you can't get enough of high energy Phish, and the Tweezer (YMMV on how much you like it) and YEM from the Set 2.
, attached to 1988-08-27

Review by thelot

thelot This recording is decent overall, although the pitch is a hair sharp. There must’ve been some editing done because there is zero hiss even though this recording clearly has a couple cassette generations in it’s lineage. Also, another strange thing about this recording is there is zero audience in the mix. The set itself is a lot of fun and it’s pretty clear that the band was in a silly mood for this performance. Fantastic stage banter throughout! Unfortunately, the last two songs of the set are cut from this recording, assuming they only played one set. I’m curious to know what Poor Heart sounded like. Maybe Kevin will share it through LiveBait or From the Archives someday. Two harsh cuts take place during this fantastic version of Fluffhead…one of the best to date! This standalone version of Mike’s Song is strong as well. Golgi has a nice opening segment that’s worth checking out. There’s been a handful of earlier versions with an opening segment but this one really pops! Tela starts out with a very nice opening section. Great early version, one of the best thus far. This set is definitely worth a spin if you’ve never heard it.
, attached to 2004-04-15

Review by TheBrainTQ

TheBrainTQ This is, IMHO, the single worst phish show I have attended. I remember being psyched at the Buried Alive opening, and liking absolutely nothing after. The AC/DC jam went nowhere, Trey looked positively messed up, the band were all playing their own shows and not listening to one another, and the energy was terrible al night. THIS and Coventry -- which was just a step above this slop -- make me truly appreciate what we have gotten from Phish since about 2016. They sound good, have fun and have been putting out good new music. They take care of themselves, take risks and truly seem to respond to one another on stage. There was none of that during this lost weekend in Vegas. Which isn't to say we had a bad time; we didn't. Phish is always fun. I am just very grateful they got took the time to get better and grow back together, because if it had continued like THIS... IN fairness to PHISH, I must enter a few things to the record. First, I was a mess during this time. Seems many people around me were as well. Second, I had been very spoiled by good Phish shows leading up to this, and the difference was startling. Third, a best friend and relative newcomer to Phish attended with me. His assessment: "Dude, that was freaking awesome." A terrible Phish show is still better than most of the alternatives.
, attached to 2010-10-30

Review by desmondthefamilyberzerker

desmondthefamilyberzerker This first set is an absolute scorcher. The Cavern has a bounce to it that had the entire venue locked in with everyone's knees hitting their chin. The Foam and Guelah are both landed with great precision and then of course there's the rest of the sets hijinks initiated by the CDT trick that doesn't let up until the band gives Page the spotlight to end the set. The Tweezer fest was great fun, but I would direct you to other gems in the set such as 2001, Bowie and yes Number line. All are versions that have more than a little extra fire. In 2001 in particular the rhythm section is particularly locked in and driving the band to a standout version. Great night, great show and theres so much to listen back on with glee.
, attached to 2010-10-30

Review by desmondthefamilyberzerker

desmondthefamilyberzerker This first set is an absolute scorcher. The Cavern has a bounce to it that had the entire venue locked in with everyone's knees hitting their chin. The Foam and Guelah are both landed with great precision and then of course there's the rest of the sets hijinks initiated by the CDT trick that doesn't let up until the band gives Page the spotlight to end the set. The Tweezer fest was great fun, but I would direct you to other gems in the set such as 2001, Bowie and yes Number line. All are versions that have more than a little extra fire. In 2001 in particular the rhythm section is particularly locked in and driving the band to a standout version. Great night, great show and theres so much to listen back on with glee.
, attached to 2010-10-31

Review by desmondthefamilyberzerker

desmondthefamilyberzerker I've been giving the previous Halloween shows a listen to as we approached this years event in Vegas. This show has got a really good first set, an incredibly well delivered musical costume, and a band that seems audibly tired in the third. If the band had delivered a seminal moment in the third frame this show would be looked back upon with much more reverence. Still the Divided Sky, Ghost->Spooky, Stash, entire set 2, and encore make this one worthy of more than one revisit.
, attached to 1994-10-31

Review by Halloween94

Halloween94 Went to college at Siena by Albany, half hour from Glens Falls, we got our tickets from a Ticketmaster in a Macy’s that a local friend knew about. I convinced the student government to sponsor a bus from the college to the show and back to prevent driving accidents ???? Me and my 50 closest friends had a school bus to the show and back???? The lot was crazy that night, fun and so many balloons. The speculation about the second set was the talk of the lot, I’m pretty sure the consensus was Thriller walking into the show, I can still remember the energy when they played the first chords of Back in the USSR…….. electric evening ????????????????????????
, attached to 1994-10-31

Review by Halloween94

Halloween94 Went to college at Siena by Albany, half hour from Glens Falls, we got our tickets from a Ticketmaster in a Macy’s that a local friend knew about. I convinced the student government to sponsor a bus from the college to the show and back to prevent driving accidents ???? Me and my 50 closest friends had a school bus to the show and back???? The lot was crazy that night, fun and so many balloons. The speculation about the second set was the talk of the lot, I’m pretty sure the consensus was Thriller walking into the show, I can still remember the energy when they played the first chords of Back in the USSR…….. electric evening ????????????????????????
, attached to 1996-06-06

Review by Halloween94

Halloween94 I grew up about 20 miles from Woodstock New York and I remember getting a phone call that day at work from my friend saying that Phish was going to be playing at Joyous Lake that night, she wasn’t even 21, we didn’t have tickets but we went up anyway. Pulled into the parking lot in the back of venue, we see a box truck with Vermont plates, we just hung out on the ramp that goes from the back deck of the bar to the parking lot, the line at the front door was down the street. A few minutes later, the band walks by us loading in their own equipment. I just smile and am speechless ( very rare for me). By show time the bar and the outside deck are completely packed, as soon as the band goes on everybody from the outside deck rushes into the bar and now the outside deck is completely open. I say to the cop that’s guarding the back deck, we’re just sitting here dancing on the ramp can’t we just go over to the deck so we will have more space to dance? Needless to say, he let me and my friend in, no tickets, raging show………. One of the best nights of my life????????????????????????????????????????
, attached to 2021-10-29

Review by KidCough

KidCough This is my first review....I am writing this because I am blown away by my Vegas Phish Halloween experience and I just have to get this out. Gonna review all 4 shows but starting here because I think that Night 2 is my favorite of the run and I am listening to it on repeat. But the whole run, jeez, what a treat and I am still reliving the experience.... SET 1: it's just so goddamn amazing that it's hard to describe, especially after N1's 1st set and how they just came out SWINGIN both nights. Fun Olivias, then Axilla II is so great to hear, ethereal, spacey, awesome, and then BAM!! Mikes-> H2 -> Paug is just about as good as you can expect to hear in a 1st set. I don't know a single phan that would be unhappy to hear that trifecta. Shade cooled it down nicely (great love song, might actually be in my brother's upcoming wedding) and then IAWITW well...it just worked. RoboPhish doing what they do best. That song actually killed and I was never even a fan of it, but now I've listened to it twice today. SET 2: Starts great and never lets up. Ass Handed always fun to hear -- the beginning is really hard to sing along to but Fish told us to -- so we all tried hilariously. But then it gets going and jams like a mahfah! They're just jamming everything now. We all know tonight is the kind of stuff that dreams are made of. Up to the plate steps Tweezer as the hot Ass melts away. People go a little crazy. Myself included. This is my favorite Phish song (I have 10 favorite Phish songs LOL). People around us are gettin the F down. I am dancing real hard. Stays mostly type 1 but fun. But really the best part is last 4 min, sounds like they are gonna bust into Manteca but don't and then there is the coolest outtro...then the last minute...it's cooling down nice and chill and then, is that...a couple teases of Funky Bitch? Cool...then they JUST JUMP RIGHT into that Bitch and it's so hot it is SO HOT. Might be the best thing they played all wknd, FIRE. That transition is perfection. In fact I looked over to my bro and said "perfect". It was. This is getting long and I apologize. But we go from the funkiest Bitch ever into Reba, not perfect composed section but not terrible and who's there for the composed section anyway? But the jam...oh this Reba jam is NOT to be missed. You must listen. Sand gets extra mustard and jams and rocks real good. Tweezer slips back in and then what is this, a pre-Prise? Nice darkness and fun and then Sigma...a song I've been hit over the head with until now I really love it and this version is my favorite ever. The synth Page throws in during the chorus is glorious, you can't not love it. This version simply kills. Walk Away is a long time fave cover of mine and it puts an exclamation point on this fantastic set...what a great song! Julius hot encore and a little extra on Reprise and it's all over. We're a sweaty mess -- smiles, high fives, hugs abound. Afterglow still from this one. PHISH!!! PHISSSSHHHH!! WOO! Ben Blonder
, attached to 2021-10-26

Review by waxbanks

waxbanks Further evidence, if any were needed, that the 'Type II' designator has outlived its usefulness. Today's Phish jams routinely mix key changes and rhythm/tempo shifts -- in the old terms, half the songs in this show go 'Type II.' Pebbles, Sample(!), Halley's(!!), Set Your Soul Free, Sea of Stars(!!!), 46 Days, and Weekapaug all step beyond themselves. And we get several improvised segues to boot, including a funky slow Pebbles > Makisupa, a gorgeous transition into the Phish debut of Silver Light, a brief but perfectly judged Mull > SYSF, an unintentionally (then intentionally) funny fakeout 46 Days > Sally, and a pitch-perfect slide from Sally into a multifaceted standalone Weekapaug. The jamming is at Fall 2021 levels of fluency and fluidity, 10 of the 16 songs in sets 1 and 2 run 9:00 or more, and Mountains in the Mist and the GOTF tunes let in intense emotions to balance the shenanigans. Fall Tour was so good this year -- a bold step beyond Summer and and flying leap beyond what 'Phish 3.0' had led us to expect -- that this show is likely being marked down a bit for being merely Kong- and not Godzilla-sized. The best of this tour can reasonably be named the best Phish of the 21st century, and the band was unquestionably playing at a more consistently high level than at any point since Coventry, if not Big Cypress. This show is 'merely' that good, Mike and Fish merely playing their asses off, Trey merely high as a kite off his Dezron-meets-Fish-and-Ray TAB vacation, Page merely bringing a Soviet nuclear reactor's worth of electromechanical doodads to bear on his bandmates' intriguing musical/emotional problems. We might be grateful for a tour so ludicrously good (at this improbably late hour) that this excellent Phish concert manages, somehow, not to stand out. Anyway, I love it and suggest you do the same.
, attached to 2021-10-23

Review by Ceviche_Mixto

Ceviche_Mixto Two weeks post-show and I'm still glowing. For me this is pretty much as good as it gets, definitely top tier ... and while a lot of your show enjoyment can depend on who you're with and how you're feeling, the re-listen for sure holds up. Fluffhead opener - could you ask for anything better? Best NICU ever (that I"m aware of) and as others have mentioned, was teased masterfully throughout the show (love the tease timing within Tube at around 5'25). Everything came together for me on this night throughout both sets. Insanely good Free & Piper. Even more grateful that this was a hometown show.
, attached to 1988-08-13

Review by thelot

thelot Midway through Peaches the quality of the recording improves, although the pitch is a bit sharp. Decent recording overall. However, the 2nd set doesn’t sound as good. This version of AC/DC lacks the introduction. It wasn’t mentioned in my review of 8/5 but that version of Bag features the introduction. Trey says that Fish is excited about his new drums proceeding A-Train. Wilson through Possum is missing from the recording that circulates. I’m curious what Divided Sky sounded like seeing that the last version played was back in March(3/21). The second half of Divided Sky was played as part of No Dogs Allowed in the past two versions…looking forward to see when they piece it together. The Whipping Post from this show is short but enjoyable. Highlights: A-Train, Forbin>Mockingbird, Hood, Whipping Post
, attached to 2013-04-19

Review by TheBuddhistProdigy

TheBuddhistProdigy Going back to my memories of this show 8-1/2 years later because it was one of my favorites. I was 7 mos pregnant and sporting a custom Ryan Kerrigan T-shirt with The Fox Theater sketch on front ( the actual building as if looking from across the street) and " Find your treasures where you will, don't you stop until you've had your fill" lyrics on the back. I had listened to Traveler constantly and was ready for my big ( literally) sober, finger pricking ( gestational diabetes ) show. For me, it was all that. Eliminating the beers for this show allowed me to focus on my favorite band in a new way. My crew had floors and I asked the kind APE folks if there was a place for a pregger mama like me to sit when I needed to rest, and they gave my husband and I wristbands for the Friends and Family area. I was pleased to use that space when I needed it. Thank you! So we raged the floor lovingly until I needed a rest. I grabbed a sausage sandwich from the restaurant in back, pricked my finger, recorded it, and settled into one of my favorite tracks on the new album. Greyhound Rising. But ugh! The F&F section had probably seen and heard it a million times, because I recall mostly talkers and not many listeners. I found a spot as close to that rail as I could and just waved my arms back and forth singing along. Thankful for that moment, I enjoyed Scabbard then returned to my crew on the floor for that epic Mozambique. Jeff Cressman is the man!!!!! So fun to watch the Daddy/ Daughter duet on this tune. I was dancing up a storm once again. So not a full review- but a shared moment from my memories of that beautiful show. PS: Architect that night was epic! Our first one and we enjoyed the spotlight reflecting from Trey's guitar. It's shined brightly on me and my crew as I felt my daughter move around in my womb. We all continue to raise our glass to the architect. Ready for the next visit to the Fox with Dezron. R.I.P. Tony Markellis ❤️ Shine On, Bri'
You can still access archived Phish.net reviews
Support Phish.net & Mbird


Phish.net

Phish.net is a non-commercial project run by Phish fans and for Phish fans under the auspices of the all-volunteer, non-profit Mockingbird Foundation.

This project serves to compile, preserve, and protect encyclopedic information about Phish and their music.

Credits | Terms Of Use | Legal | DMCA

© 1990-2021  The Mockingbird Foundation, Inc. | Hosted by Linode